Sculpture in Suspension

“Portrait of a Nation Prize” © 2015
Stainless Steel
12″ H


This sculpture has been commissioned by the Smithsonian Institution’s National Portrait Gallery as the Portrait of a Nation Prize, given at the biennial gala event to honor “Great Americans.”

The inaugural 2015 event honored baseball legend Hank Aaron, singer Aretha Franklin, artist and architect Maya Lin, Corporal Kyle Carpenter, and fashion designer Carolina Herrara.

The 2017 event honored Spike Lee, Madeleine Albright, Rita Mereno, Bill T Jones, and Dr. David Ho.

The 2019 event will honor Lin-Manuel Miranda, Anna Wintour, Jeffrey P. Bezos, Frances Hamilton Arnold, Indra K. Nooyi, and the four members of Earth, Wind, and Fire.

The next award event will be in November, 2019.

Aretha Franklin sings at inaugural event

WordPress Image Lightbox